Executive Board

2020-2021 Executive Board

Devin Swiner (President, far right)

Devin J. Swiner currently is a 5th year, PhD candidate working under Dr. Abraham Badu-Tawiah at The Ohio State University. Since graduating from The University of Pittsburgh in 2016 with her B.S. in Chemistry, her current research is focused on developing a new ionization source for mass spectrometry using cellulose materials for applications in clinical diagnostics. In her various capacities at OSU, she is able to mentor students as they grow and develop during their programs, an effort that awarded her The Susan M. Hartmann Mentoring and Leadership Award in 2018. In her free time, she also co-runs a blog, #MacScientist, whose goal is to increase representation of black women in STEM fields, and more recently co-founded a #BlackInChem Twitter campaign, to amplify and celebrate Black chemists. 

Joy Rutherford (Vice President, far left)

Joy Rutherford is a 4th year PhD candidate and NIH research fellow in the Nagib lab at The Ohio State University. As an organic chemist, her research focuses on the synthesis of prevalent motifs in pharmaceuticals using photochemistry via radical-mediated pathways. Outside of research and NOBCChE Joy is also the vice president of Females of Chemistry Uniting Scientists (FOCUS), which is a student-run seminar series and community outreach organization whose purpose is to promote awareness and understanding of the scientific achievements of prominent women within the field of chemistry. She also serves as a mentor for The Ohio State University’s Bridge Scholars Program. 

Raymond Twumasi (Treasurer, middle)

Raymond Twumasi is currently a fourth year PhD candidate and an NSF GRFP Fellow in the Nagib lab. His organic chemistry journey started at College of Saint Benedict and Saint John’s University where he worked on the synthesis of aromatic azo inhibitors of low molecular weight PTPs. He received a few awards and was named a Glen Arth Scholar. Now, as a graduate student at The Ohio State University, his research focuses on developing new strategies for site-selective C-H functionalization via chaperones, or radical precursors.

Zweli Hlatshwayo (Social Events Coordinator, not pictured)