Dr. Claudia Turro

Claudia Turro received her B.S. with Honors in 1987 from Michigan State University. She worked with Daniel G. Nocera and George E. Leroi at Michigan State University and received her Ph.D. in 1992. She was awarded a Jane Coffin Childs Memorial Fund for Medical Research Postdoctoral Fellowship to conduct postdoctoral work at Columbia University with Nicholas J. Turro (no relation) from 1992 to 1995, and has been a faculty member at The Ohio State University since 1996. She received the Early CAREER Award by the National Science Foundation in 1998, the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation Young Investigator Award in 1999, was named a 2010 Fellow of the American Chemical Society (ACS), and a 2012 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She was elected President of the Inter-American Photochemical Society from 2012-14 and Chair of the ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry in 2016. She received the 2014 College of Arts and Sciences Susan M. Hartmann Mentoring and Leadership Award, the 2014 Award in Photochemistry from the Inter-American Photochemical Society, the 2016 Edward W. Morley Medal from the Cleveland Section of the ACS, and the 2016 Award of the Columbus Section of the ACS. Claudia also received the 2017 University Distinguished Scholar Award from The Ohio State University and the 2017 Mentor on the Map Award from the National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE). Since 2016, she has been serving as Associate Editor for the Journal of the American Chemical Society.